The Start of Something New


long path

Tomorrow I get on a plane to Washington, DC….and I don’t have a return flight. I am moving to DC and moving in with my boyfriend. This is a huge step for me.  Everything that I have done in my life, until now, was aimed at pleasing my parents. I put their love and their praise above everything else. As you can imagine, this didn’t make me too happy. I was doing things, not because I wanted to do them, but because it was what was asked of me…what was expected of me.

In December of 2006 I moved back home from Orange County, CA.  I was broken physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I needed to get back on my feet and felt that the best way to do that was to remove myself from my current location.  My parents generously opened their doors to me and gave me the love and comfort that only parents can give.  I appreciate all that they did for me.

However, moving back home as an adult has its challenges. The old roles are quickly assumed by myself and my parents. The love and caring has become overshadowed by tension and I continue to struggle to figure out who I am and what I want for my life. Hence the move to DC.  I have lived my entire life in Southern California. I think it is time for me to stretch my wings and see what life is like somewhere else. Maybe this will work, and maybe it won’t, but I won’t know unless I try. I have an amazing guy who is willing to walk beside me and lend moral support as I need it. What more can you ask for in life?

This will be an adventure for sure, but one that I feel that I am strong enough to handle…finally.

13 Comments

Filed under life

13 responses to “The Start of Something New

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for The Start of Something New « Evolutionary Life [legaldunki.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. As wonderful as SoCal is, there is something magic about the Northeast – D.C., Boston, New York – and I’m sure you will appreciate the change in local, weather and culture. Good thing you’ll still be blogging & tweeting so we can keep track!

  3. Jeannie Johnston

    Best of luck to you! He’s one lucky guy too and don’t forget that. 🙂

  4. Congrats on the move and good luck!

  5. I love how you open your heart and soul to the rest of us, and generously share your spirit and enthusiasm. I can’t wait to hear about all the new and exciting experiences you’ll have in D.C.

    Godspeed on the next stage of your journey!

  6. Patricia E. Infanti

    How exciting for you! It is easier to make a move across the country at this stage of your life. I congratulate you for spreading your wings to fly east. Email me for contacts in the area!

  7. Lori Stewart

    She already has one contact – me! I have my Northern Virginia NALS chapter forwarding job information, etc. and hopefully Kris will be able to find a great new job and we are eager to meet her and welcome her to the DC area!

  8. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  9. As we’ve spoken before, I am so in awe of your ability to step out of your box and over your walls. Not only were you daring enough to fall in love with a great guy (who gets you coffee and will make room for your books!) but you are up and moving from what you’ve known to start something even better.

    Plus you are SO much closer to me now, NYC has got to be in our not-so-distant future. That in and of itself is one of the best reasons for this move. Oh, and love/adventure/excitement for a new chapter in your life. But mostly me. 🙂

  10. I love this. I love the honesty in it and how you tell enough of the story to get your point across. I love even more that you’re taking a chance — not just on love, but on life. These changes are huge, these changes are life-altering, these changes can’t be anything but positive because they will show you what you’re made of, what you can do, and how you can fly.

    I was struck by the part with your parents — can’t tell you how much I get that, as it’s something I deal with all the time. To a different degree, of course, with different situations. But as much as you love and appreciate them, it’s hard to figure out who you are as an adult while you’re still reminded of who you are as a young adult, a teenager, a child. That’s not easy to break away from; it’s not easy to reconcile, either. I think you talk about these challenges simply — short and sweet — something I’ve been trying to do for the past year.

    Can’t wait to see what this adventure has in store for you, Kris. I love this post and am so excited for you!

    And Kris/Elisa — do I sense a PowerPuff Girl tweetup/meetup in NYC sometime in the near future with Sam? =P

  11. This is exciting! Good for you.

    My favorite (and cheesy) line is, “If you want to cross the river, you’re going to have to get wet.” You can test the water, ask everyone else what they think the water is like, inquire about the temperature, etc. but in the end, the only way to know is to jump in.

    I think you’ve got a solid head on your shoulders and adventure is so fun. I can’t wait to hear more about your move and exciting new steps in life 🙂

Leave a Reply

