Update #1


I originally started my blog with the idea that it would chronical my journey to law school as I grappled with the ins, outs, ups and downs of figuring out the law school application process.  However, I don’t feel like I have been focusing on that of late.  So, I’ll take a moment here and publicly look at where I am so far.

It is the middle of June, actually passed the middle by one day.  My freelance paralegal business is starting to take off, at the expense of studying for the LSAT.  When I formed the business back in January, I had no clue what I was doing…and I still don’t. Or, at least I don’t think I have a clue what I am doing (feel free to correct me if I am wrong). However, sink or swim is the best way for me to learn and I think I have reached doggy paddle.  I have managed to get some clients, made my own website, started my own blog, and became addicted to Twitter (I am currently in a program to wean myself off of Twitter….it’s not working). I have made some great connections on there, both professional ones and people I would proudly call friends even though I have yet to meet them in person.

I made it through my legal history class at UCSD, which you heard a lot about if you follow me on twitter. Next Monday (June 22) I start a 6 week summer intro to law class (American Legal and Constitutional History: Crimes, Civil Wrongs, and the Constitution) at California Western School of Law.  They have a partnership with UCSD and let a few (25) UCSD students take the class and I am lucky enough to be one of them.  It will be my first real law school class.  I am both nervous and excited.  I haven’t been this excited about going to school since I started 6th grade and wanted to wear a pleated skirt and navy blue blazer.  My mother convinced me that jeans and a sweatshirt was a more practical public school outfit (Mom, I think I missed my calling as a private school girl). But, I digress ever so slightly. This class is ridiculously important.  I have to do well since I will have an actual law school class on my transcript.  That transcript may come from UCSD, but it is still a law school class and will be a major factor in my applications to law school.  (Again, correct me if I am wrong).

Working, school, blogging, tweeting, google reader-ing, etc does not leave much time for a social life or really much of a life at all.  Honestly though, I wouldn’t change things for the world.  I was told once (I can’t remember by whom or I would give credit) that if you find something that you love, then work doesn’t seem like work. It is true.  I may run around crazy and stressed, but at the end of the day, for the most part, I love where I am in terms of career, life direction and what I am doing.  It is all up hill from here.

2 Comments

Filed under Career, law, law school, life

2 responses to “Update #1

  1. Thanks for the update 😉 One of the best parts about having a blog, I’ve found, is the ability to reflect and actually go back and see how far you’ve come on your journey.

    And you? You’re just getting started…Good luck! You’ll make it.

  2. Great outlook on where you’re life is and where you want to go. It’s all one big journey – there will be bad times and good, but in the end, if you’re motivated and dedicated to doing more and being more, all the pieces will fall together. Keep moving forward, but make sure you’re making time for yourself. It’s so easy to get caught up in all this other stuff around us that we forget about ourselves. Don’t lose track of who YOU are, and from time to time, turn the phone off, close the computer, and do something for you, even if it’s not productive, or seems meaningless. We all need that solace, the ability to break away and not feel attached to everything else going on around us. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

