The Wonderful World of Twitter


I am the kinda of person who is nice to everyone until they give me a reason not to be…and it has to be a pretty darn good reason at that.  I think that everyone deserves the benefit of the doubt, a chance to show who they really are, a everyone deserves a friend.  On the flip side, I also believe that respect is earned and not just a given.

Lately, people have been giving me reasons not to be friends with them.  I have been hurt, crushed, and betrayed.  I am beginning to feel like being nice is an open invitation for people to try and walk all over you and try to take advantage of you.  The people have also lost my respect.  I am becoming very disgruntled with my community, my city, and the world in general.  I just want to retreat from the world.  Not interact, just stay home and lose myself in the world of books.  Books don’t talk back to you or try to manipulate you.  The are there and you cal lose yourself in the story as much or as little as you want.

However, as I spend more time on Twitter I am connecting with wonderful individuals who are the reason I have not become a hermit living in a cabin up in the mountains.  There are amazing, wonderful, supportive people on Twitter.  People who have lent an ear, lent a shoulder, listened to my rants, talked to me off Twitter, read my blogs, provide support, pay it forward, tell me my poetry doesn’t stink, etc, etc, etc!!! (that is a King and I reference, just FYI).  So, I just wanted to take the time out to recognize the amazing community that Twitter is and thank of you for being you.  I would thank you by name, but there are so many of you and I would inadvertently forget someone and feel bad and cry, so I won’t attempt to list all of you.  You know who you are and you can feel warm and fuzzy without being named.

Thank you, Twitterville, for bringing wonderful people together.

19 Comments

Filed under life

19 responses to “The Wonderful World of Twitter

  1. If you are going to retreat into books, read Tribes. You will then head back out into the world feeling better.

    • legaldunki

      Chris, I think you have just set a record for the fastest comment on a post after being posted. I don’t think it had been up for even a minute. I am very impressed. lol.

      What is Tribes about? Who is the author? I am trying to make a break from my usual friends of Austen, Dickens, Hemingway, Kafka, and the crazy Russian authors who’s characters I can not keep straight.

      • Ok, your comment is a little creepy. When I was in law school, I went into a Russian author funk as well. I drew the line when I tried to read the Brothers Kazmorov (or however you spell it) for the second unsuccessful time.

        Seth Godin wrote Tribes. He also has a great blog. Also, check out Chris Brogan on Twitter and at his blog. Should be easy to find with a google search.

  2. I’ve been having the same thoughts RE: Twitter lately. The whole situation with Eric De La Cruz and the response via the web and specifically Twitter has been incredible. People from all walks of life, from all over the world have gathered together to help Eric, a complete stranger. Why? Because people are inherently good – we want to help, we want to give people the benefit of the doubt, we want to do more and be excellent (seriously, read Rikin’s post over at my blog today – it’s REALLY good).

    Twitter has made me a believer in the power social media has in bringing people together for common good. Good post – and I’ve glad you’ve found some solace in the comfort of others.

    • legaldunki

      I am glad that the social media world has come through for Eric. I will read Rikin’s post. it is open in a tab right now and has been all morning. Just haven’t gotten to it yet, but much anticipated. Thank you for your comment.

  3. Twitter is a great place to find awesome people to connect with because there’s so many people there and you can get a sense of their personality via their tweets. Plus, with tweetdeck you can filter out the noise.

    I’ve made tons of great contacts via twitter and tweetups. Great post about how it allows you to feel engaged no matter who or where you are.

    • legaldunki

      Thank you, Adam. I work with Seesmic. I liked tweetdeck, but lagged my computer to the point of frustration (but than again maybe it was the laptop). Sometimes I forget that Twitter is international.

  4. When it rains, it pours. You deserve way better than the drama you’re dealing with.

    So, just keep thinking positive (i.e. Twitter community rocks) and you’ll prevail. =)

    • legaldunki

      Short, sweet, and to the point. Thank you for your comment. It really is all about the power of positive thinking.

  5. Sam

    I know how you feel, I have the same philosophy, and I’ve been told that I’m sometimes too nice. Even if we have great friends, it’s still awesome to be able to connect with such amazing people, not just through Twitter, but through our blogs and social networks. I’m glad you’ve found such a sense of community!

    • legaldunki

      Well, if it wasn’t for Twitter, I wouldn’t have found your great blog!!! It is a wonderful community 🙂

  6. Kris: A nice post, I appreciate your honesty and willingness to open up.

    When I read your first paragraph, I thought for a second that I was reading my own words, as I can truly relate. I tend to give people second, third, even fourth chances because I believe in them…to a fault, and often at my own expense.

    What I’ve learned lately from this is that you can’t control other people’s actions. You can only control you own, your own reactions. And people will disappoint you…but people will also surprise you.

    It’s so easy to become cynical when you’ve faced heartache and when you realize that people aren’t who you thought they were. However, it’s amazing when you realize that you have a support network greater than you ever could have imagined, thanks to social media, thanks to a blog where you can express yourself, thanks to Twitter.

    You are worthy of great friendships, great things, Kris. Resist that urge to retreat but cultivate the relationships you’ve formed. Because although they may be around the world, hundreds of miles away, they are just as strong and often just as true.

    Great post, Kristina. Wishing you the best.

  7. Great and very honest post, Kristina. I know how you feel. I have been able to connect with so many amazing, wonderful, and kind and helpful people via Twitter.

    It never ceases to please and amaze me how nice people are. From followfriday recommendations, to giving me advice on life and career, to helping me connect to great opportunities related to my passions, people I’ve met on Twitter have been hands down some of the most helpful and collaborative, and just plain nice people I’ve met. It shows me that people are inherently good, like Matt said.

    Crazy how something like Twitter can rebuild your faith in humanity, but it does, right?

  8. legaldunki

    Akhila, I could just be on Twitter and happy with society…as long as I don’t go out into the world and deal with people out there….lol. Yes, Twitter makes me feel better about the world.
    Thank you for your comment.

  9. Not sure if you’re talking to me too there, but you are a sweet person, and you deserve the best. Not sure how to say this in english, but I’ll try:

    “When you’ve hit rock bottom, there’s nowhere to go but up”.

    Stay positive. Twitter will only help you so far. Real life happiness is more important. And it’s waiting for you.

    Good things Kristina!

    • legaldunki

      You said it perfectly, Carlos. Thank you for your comment and support. I look forward to the climb upwards.

  10. While my life was rich and rewarding long before Twitter, I must agree that the people I’ve meet since tweeting last year have enriched my life beyond measure.

    Those who reach out and offer to help, or who give sage advice and words of encouragement, what a blessing. It’s a special place to be, and even more fun when you get to connect (in person) with someone you’ve only tweeted with before.

  11. Thank you for such real and honest post… I have to agree with Global Patriot, Twitter has been an awesome and rewarding experience for me! Life is very much a choice each day… Twitter is just the same! We can focus on the negative events, people, news or we choose to only look at the positive events, people, and great our own fantastic news!

    Keep tweeting and stay positive!

Leave a Reply

