Boundaries


Impulsive is defined as:

  • proceeding from natural feeling or impulse without external stimulus; “an impulsive gesture of affection”
  • without forethought; “letting him borrow her car was an impulsive act that she immediately regretted”
  • driving: having the power of driving or impelling; “a driving personal ambition”; “the driving force was his innate enthusiasm”; “an impulsive force”
  • capricious: determined by chance or impulse or whim rather than by necessity or reason; “a capricious refusal”; “authoritarian rulers are frequently capricious”; “the victim of whimsical persecutions”
  • hotheaded: characterized by undue haste and lack of thought or deliberation

I wanted the OED definition, but you have to pay for it (Guys, the way to my heart is to buy me the OED dictionary, new edition just came out.  Man, I am a geek).

Anyway, the point of this is is that I just had a solicitation to come visit someone who is going to be traveling in Arizona, which is close to where I am in California.  But I hesitate.  Why?  Take cost out of the picture, say the trip were free or that I hd money to burn.  Either way, cost not a factor. (considering my main reason for hesitating is cost..ha!)  Why do I hesitate?  Because I don’t really know this person or because I lack a certain amount of impulsiveness? Or is it because I have boundaries?  What causes other people to act on a whim, while yet others are cautious and think before they act?

…and Discuss!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Boundaries

  1. catherine

    I don’t know anything about the situation, but I *can* tell you that the stunning drive to Tucson alone is worth it. 🙂 Good luck with that decision…

Leave a Reply

